"Dell Support"

Dell Support

Yesterday, my Dell notebook running on Windows 7 confronted a booting issue. Conventionally, I restarted the system twice or thrice but that couldn’t fix the issue. Then I navigated to a portal searching for the Windows 7 Support, and I came across an easy tool as Windows 7 System Recovery Options.

The article portrayed the troubleshooting process as how to access and execute the tool, through the original Windows 7 installation disc.

I connected it through an external hard disk, and modified the BIOS to change the Serial Advanced Technology Attachment (SATA) mode of the boot drive so as to boot with the installation CD.

But it landed me to the error message: “STOP 0x0000007B INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE”. It was the worst situation I ever have had with the Dell system.

Finally, I opted to go online to seek Dell Technical Support, and after a quick search I got a promising page, without wasting my energy further I called up the toll-free number which was flashing on the web portal.  Luckily a technician was available, after confirming basic system information he asked for the remote access of the machine, and I agreed. The problem was resolved and I also got the action plan that was performed, which was as below:

  1. Click “Start”, type “regedit” in the “Search” box, and then press the “ENTER” button.
  2. Locate and then click one of the following registry subkeys:
  3. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Msahci
  4. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\IastorV
  5. In the right pane, right-click “Start” in the “Name” column, and then click “Modify”.
  6. In the “Value data box”, type 0, and then click “OK”.
  7. On the “File” menu, click “Exit” to close Registry Editor.

Later, the technician used the Windows 7 Recovery module to repair the machine, and told me to end the remote-session and restart the system. I did the same, and eventually, the problem was resolved. I was very much pleased with the timely Dell service support, and appreciated his skills by speaking with his immediate senior.

Hope the magic will work for you as well. However, before you modify the registry settings take a backup and restore it, so as to avoid any unpleasant situation. Undoubtedly, Dell repair services are unmatchable.

