"Dell Support"

Dell Support

I explored the Device Manager to check the status of the sound card but I was shocked as there was no such thing. I was clueless that what exactly happened to it. In fact, everything was working Ok till yesterday, I had listened favorite sound tracks even. Despite the troubleshooting when I couldn’t get the result, I called up the Dell Technical Support.

A technician picked up the call and wished me in a professional way. After formal discussion sharing the system information, contact detail, etc. he asked for the remote access of the Dell system to diagnose and fix the sound issue. I agreed to that.

After a while he showed me the crux. Under the Device Manager I came across a yellow question mark next to the name of the sound card. The techie told me that there is an issue with the sound driver, and its incompatible, and it needs to be updated.

He sent me an article saying Update drivers and instructed me to run Windows Update, but recommended to cross-check the drivers with the Windows Compatibility Center. The article read as follows: Click “Start”, in the search box, type “Update”, and then, in the list of results, click “Windows Update”.‌ In the left pane, click “Check for updates”. (If there are any available updates, click the links to see more information about each update. Windows Update tells you if an update is important, recommended, or optional. Each type of update might include drivers). Look for updates for your sound card, select the check box for the driver that you want to install, and then click “OK”.

However, situations may come when there might not be any available driver updates. To tackle it you can navigate to the device manufacturer site and get it from there. For fresh installation make sure to remove the outdated one.

Thanks, Dell Support is a worth visiting site, and it can be availed any time for Dell repair and maintenance service from anywhere.